Lowestoft Column

Due to some mis-communication the Lowestoft programme had already gone to the printers when I sent it in so I have decided to post it on here instead.

So after 45 competitive games in a row I did the unthinkable, I missed a Ferriby game! I wasn’t going to turn down a holiday to Magaluf though was I! I ended up missing the 1-1 draws with Stockport and Hendesford with the latter being a more disappointing result than the former. Adam Bolder came to the rescue with the last kick of the game to earn a point from a very tough away game at Edgeley Park. The home draw with Hednesford was an opportunity missed in my opinion. Again a late equaliser from big Tom Denton saved us but three points would have kept us close to early season pace setters. It hasn’t been a bad start for Ferriby though with four of our five opponents so far currently sitting in the top ten with three in the top 5. Solihull have destroyed everyone they have played except us and our defence is looking solid we just need a few more goals.

As predicted Solihull, Stockport, Nuneaton and Tamworth have all started well and will have a shout of being up there all season in my opinion. I expected a flying start from FCUM because they were on a crest of a wave but this hasn’t materialised but this may be because the National League North is the strongest it has been in years in terms of quality. The biggest surprise for me has been the appalling start made by AFC Telford and it was obviously a surprise to them with manager Steve Kittrick losing his job just 5 games into the season. This is not a surprise to see in modern day football with fans quick to jump on manager’s backs and board members having extremely itchy trigger fingers. Telford expects to be challenging for promotion and rightly so with them being one of the bigger sides in the league and time will tell if sacking Kittrick was the right decision. Hednesford’s management team have taken over the job and this could spell trouble for the pitmen in my opinion.

Today we take on Lowestoft Town and I would like to welcome all of their fantastic supporters to the Eon Visual Media Stadium. They are one of the best sets of supporters I have come across in my 6 years following non-league football and deserve a medal for the amount of travelling they do to follow their team.

About ferribyshep

I am a North Ferriby Fanatic and this blog will be dedicated to my seasons watching and following North ferriby united. Blog posts may be made by other North Ferriby fans with my permission
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

