Following North Ferriby: One Incredible Journey

You may have thought that 28th February 2015 was a normal bog standard Saturday well you couldn’t have been more wrong because that was the day North Ferriby United made it to Wembley! It was a truly momentous day in the history of a tiny village club which I am proud to be a part of.

I have been supporting The Villagers for 5 seasons and it rather pains me to admit that I rather stumbled across them. My first match was the pre-season friendly against Hull City at the start of the 2010-2011 season and like most of the 2000+ crowd I wasn’t attending the match to watch Ferriby. It was my first visit to Church Road and after the match I was hooked and that’s where my journey to being a North Ferriby fanatic really began.

Ever since that first match my affinity to the club has snowballed and I now hate it when I have to miss a game but I’m not bragging because there are plenty of people who have given far more to this club than I have and In a lot of ways I am lucky because I have stumbled across the club just as they began a period of huge success. They reached the playoffs in my first season before winning the Doodson Cup the year after. The real breakthrough season was 2012-2013 when we won the treble. We won the Evo Stik NPL title on the final day of the season as well as retaining the Doodson Cup and winning the East Riding Senior Cup.

It just kept getting better because despite being tipped as relegation strugglers we led the Conference North table for long periods of the season and just missed out on promotion in the final few games. This season the league form has not been so spectacular but that has been more than made up for by a thrilling FA Trophy run that has seen The Villagers do what many thought they couldn’t and reach the final and with that comes a trip to Wembley.

Ferriby really is a remarkable club with dedicated and hard working staff and friendly and loyal supporters many of which supported the club in a lot less glamourous times than I have been lucky enough to follow Ferriby. That is why seeing Ferriby at Wembley will such a brilliant moment because it is just rewards for the clubs loyal fan base and  especially the chairman Les Hare who has put more into this football club than any other man ever will.

I cannot wait to see The Villagers at Wembley and hopefully the FA Trophy adventure can be completed with a win over Wrexham. Either way it will be a proud day for all involved with North Ferriby United and it will put the club that I love well and truly on the map!

About ferribyshep

I am a North Ferriby Fanatic and this blog will be dedicated to my seasons watching and following North ferriby united. Blog posts may be made by other North Ferriby fans with my permission
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

